Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania, trains, history, excitement.
Skip navigation.

 
 
Events Primarily for Friends of the Museum
  Bus Group Visits   
  Scheduling Special Events and Meetings  

 

Behind the Scenes Tours

Available at added cost. Advance reservations required.

Information

 

 

RAMBLES

Special trips to railroad related areas are also made available several times a year.

Information.

 

 

 

Conductor.

 

 

 

 

Refrigerated car.

 

 

 

 

Hall.

 

 

Top of page.

Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania, a world class museum of railroad history in Strasburg, PA.

Events, Hours, Admission

Subject to change. Feel free to Contact Us to verify!

Click here for our Events & General Information Brochure


2017 Calendar:

SAFETY FIRST: The Evolution Of Railroading Safety Practices Exhibit
Tuesday, January 3 through Sunday, December 30

READ ACROSS AMERICA DAY
Saturday, March 4
Click here to download brochure.

CHARTER DAY
Sunday, March 12

RAILS & ALES
Saturday, April 8. 6:30pm-10:30pm, VIP entry at 6:30pm

Tickets go on sale — online only — on December 1, 2016 at www.railsandales.org or via the Rails & Ales page on Eventbrite.

READING RAILROAD DAYS
Sunday, July 2 through Sunday, July 9

BARONS & BUILDERS DAY CAMP
July 10-July 14 for ages 9 & 10, July 24-July 28 for ages 11 & 12.
Registration begins Tuesday, March 7, 2017.

MODEL RAILROADING DAYS
Saturday, August 19 & Sunday, August 20

RAILROAD HERITAGE DAYS
Saturday, September 9 & Sunday, September 10

MEMBER'S DAY
Saturday, September 23

Presentations at the Museum during the day will include James R. Rose, “The Last Pennsylvania Interlocking Towers,” from 11:00 a.m. to 11:45 a.m. and Preston Cook, “The Study of Steam,” from 1:45 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. The evening banquet will be held at the Doubletree Lancaster/Willow Street. Guest speaker for the banquet will be Peter Osborne, author of “Trains Of Our Memory: A History Of The Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania.”

GARDEN RAILWAYS TOUR
Sunday, October 1, 1pm-5pm

TRAINS & TROOPS
Saturday, November 4 7amp; Sunday, November 5

1940s SWING DANCE
Saturday, November 4, 7pm-10pm.

Tickets go on sale on Tuesday, August 1.

CHRISTMAS WITH THE CONDUCTOR PARTIES
Saturday, December 2 & Saturday, December 9.

Registration begins Tuesday, October 24.

HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS
Saturday, December 2 & Saturday, December 9.

General Hours

 

January, February, March, November and December:
Tuesday through Saturday, 9am-5pm. Sunday, Noon-5pm.

April through October:
Monday through Saturday, 9am-5pm. Sunday, Noon-5pm.

Some days are operated by the Friends of the Museum as a service to the public. Regular admission and regulations apply at all times.

 
     

Open & Closed

 

OPEN:
Martin Luther King Jr Day: Monday, January 16
Presidents' Day: Monday, February 20
Easter: Sunday, April 16
Memorial Day: Monday, May 29
Independence Day: Tuesday, July 4
Labor Day; Monday, September 4
Columbus Day; Monday, October 9
Veterans' Day: Saturday, November 11
Black Friday; Friday, November 24

CLOSED:
New Year's Day: Sunday, January 1
Thanksgiving: Thursday, November 23
Christmas:  Monday, December 25

 
     

Admission

  Tickets for general admission are not sold in advance, but may be purchased on the day of visit, except for a few special events as indicated.  
 

Prices:
Adult (ages 12 – 64) $10
Senior Citizen (65+) $ 9
Youth (3 – 11) $ 8
Age 2 and under FREE
Groups (10 or more adults): Call for discounted rates.
School Groups: Contact the Museum for Programs and Prices.
Members of the Friends of the Railroad Museum and PHMC Associates are covered by special admission policies.
Also, persons presenting an Adult full admission stub/receipt from another PHMC site will be admitted for $9.00.
Discounted Admission for Travel and Motor Clubs.
Some structured educational programs are conducted by special reservation and subject to additional charge. See Educational Programs page for details.

Blue Star.

 
To page top.
Administered by the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission
Assisted by the Friends of the Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania
Signalling history, excitement, trains.
PHMC Logo.
Privacy and Legal Notices     Contact Us   Copyright © Friends of the Railroad Museum of Pennsylvania     Site Design by Jimquest Communications

Find us on Facebook.      Instagram